Ghostface Killers Ranked

Before going into my ranking, I feel like it should go without saying, but there will be spoilers for Scream 7.

#17: Greg: Not everyone is necessarily going to include the two guys from the opening scene from 6. But, since they had a clear plot that they had set in motion, I am. Greg is the one who comes in last, pretty much by default. He's the one who is dismembered in the fridge. He's already a corpse. Who knows how things would have gone for him if he wasn't already dead at the beginning of the narrative. 

#16: Karl Gibbs: Karl Gibbs is a character who is killed and unmasked roughly halfway through 7. He's near the bottom because he totals maybe 30 seconds of screentime, and has no lines. Because of this, his reveal is very underwhelming. 

#15: Marco Davis: In case you're wondering who he is, Marco is the orderly from 7. Like Karl, he has one scene before his reveal, which makes for a very disappointing unmasking. I rank him ahead of Karl because he, at least, has lines. I also do like some of his banter with the movie's third Ghostface. But, he ultimately doesn't do enough to leave an impression on me. 

#14: Ethan Landry: Ethan is, by far, my least favorite of the three main killers from 6. He's a fairly boring character before he's revealed. After his reveal, actor Jack Champion's performance feels forced to me. I think there was potential here with the idea of wanting to please his dad and step out of his big brother's shadow. It just never quite comes across in the final product. 

#13: Charlie Walker: Much like Ethan, I just think Charlie is incredibly boring. But, I give him the slight edge over Ethan because he's more consistently written. It also has always kind of bugged me that he's supposedly the expert, and yet it never crosses his mind that Jill might be manipulating him. 

#12: Jason Carvey: Jason is the other fake out from the opening of 6. He works better for me as a fake out than Karl does in 7 because we actually spend time with him. He has lines. He has a personailty, in that he is a cold-blooded psychopath. I mean, it is downright chilling to me, the way he talks about his film professor being reduced to an animal. I can't place him any higher than this because he is the opening kill for 6. 

#11: Roman Bridger: So, I have never been a fan of Roman. I do think he is the character who suffers the most from the writing in Scream 3. I've never really been able to buy into how he was able to everything by himself. For all of that to work, he essentially would have needed to be able to teleport. My biggest issue with him though is that, I don't think there's a single scene in 3 where he isn't bitching and whining about something. But, I also have to give some props as I do think he's the smartest Ghostface killer, and he's the only one that I actually believed could have killed Sidney, especially because I buy him the most as a physical threat. 

#10: Jessica Bowden: Jessica is, to me, the best of the killers in 7. I actually kind of like her energy. She has the most potential to go up or down my list with time. Especially because this is all being written after watching 7 once. The main thing I would have liked is maybe a couple more scenes with her. She is really the only killer in 7 that was actually fairy prevalent throughout the movie. 

#9: Wayne Bailey: I really toyed a lot with where to rank Wayne because I do think he has a similar problem as Ethan in the sense that he's fairly inconsistently written. I think I just get more out Dermot Mulroney acting ridiculous. It almost feels like he just kind of thinks he's in a different movie. I think there was something there with the angle of a Ghostface killer being a cop. Unfortuantely, that also leads into the problem of, he kind of feels like he's the most obvious killer. 

#8: Amber Freeman: I legitimately think Amber might be the most overrated Ghostface in the series. I don't necessarily hate her or anything. I just don't have particularly strong feelings about her one way or the other. I do think the actress is having a little bit more fun after she's revealed. But, for as much love fans seem to have for her, my reaction to her is a bit of a shrug. Now, I will say I like the moments where she kind of just bickers with Richie. 

#7: Quinn Bailey: Everything I said about Amber could just as easily apply to Quinn. But, I will say, she's probably my favorite of the killers in 6. She's the only that doesn't really feel like she's reduced to a cartoon character after the reveal. She legitimately feels like she's just bitter and angry. Also, compared to the other two, I just feel like she has more of a personality before the reveal. 

#6: Richie Kirsch: Okay, there's fairly big jump up in quality from my number 7 spot to my number 6 spot. Richie is a character whose facade really works before the reveal. I also like that, very much like my top 5, he has these little moments where he gives himself away that you might not notice on the first viewing. It might be certain looks he gives, or certain line deliveries you might read a little differently on later viewings. 

#5: Mrs. Loomis: Mrs. Loomis is easily the most surprising to me. It's not exactly surprising because this random reporter who has basically been a background character throughout the movie would end up being one of the killers. But, on a first watch, you don't expect her to be Billy's mother. Repeat viewings also reward you because, after a while, you can see her in the background of scenes glaring at Gale. It also works because one of the things you don't necessarily think about is the fact that she deliberately doesn't interact with Sidney until she reveals herself. 

#4: Stu Macher: Stu is, hands down, the most entertaining Ghostface to me. He might be the most quotable character in the original movie. I also kind of like the angle of using a deepfake version of him to basically be the red herring for 7. The tricky thing for me is that I think the top 4 is fairly stacked. For me, these are easily the best of the best when it comes to the killers in this franchise. What ended up putting Stu in fourth place is the fact that, for as entertaining as he is, he's kind of the least intimidating. 

#3: Mickey Altieri: For the longest time, I have said that Mickey was my favorite. I still adore him. He has my favorite motive of the entire franchise. Nobody before or since has ever wanted to get caught. He's also one of the few characters in the franchise that was already a killer, and the only one who was an active serial killer. 

#2: Billy Loomis: Billy deserves respect for being the original Ghostface. I do think the retconning that was done in 3 takes away a little bit of luster. I'm not a big fan of the idea of someone else giving him the motive and telling him to find an accomplice. Just looking at Billy in the original, I love the approach of making him so obvious, he's not obvious. 

#1: Jill Roberts: I really toyed with where to rank Jill. I have always loved her as a character and a killer. What finally made me settle on putting her at number one is that she feels like she's the most ahead of her time. In 2011, the idea of being an influencer wasn't really a thing. That's kind of what her motive boils down to. I want the fame, and I don't really want to do anything to achieve it. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Final Destination 3

The Final Destination

Scream 7